What boat to buy?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CHICKEN LEG

RCTalk Racer
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Well guy's, I now have the land (Savage) and sky (Blade CPP) covered in the RC world. Latley, I have realized that I don't have anything to run on the water behind where I live. It's considered a creek, but there is a rather large and deep area back there, so now I want a boat. I have no experience with RC watercraft though, so can anyone recomend a good boat? Nothing over $300 RTR.:constipat

Traxxas Villain IV.
Twin motors, twin props, twin batts, 1 ESC, and steerable outdrives.

If you want the nitro version, look into the Nitro V. More expensive, of course.

I had the electric villain IV, and it was a fun boat.

Boat1.jpg

Boat2.jpg

Boat3.jpg

That's a custom made water cooling system that doesn't come with the boat, but everything else is stock.

Yeah, I saw your thread on that. The question is; does it fit the 300$ budget?
Also,I can hardly keep my Savage from stalling 100% of the time, so I think I'll stay away from nitro, and I'm not going to swim in that creek to retrieve a stalled boat. Nobody knows excatly what's in there, if you know what I mean.

That's the reason I got the electric instead of the nitro V.
I'm now working on a 40" Catamaran that getting a brushless. I just don't want to go nitro with a boat. Most of my planes are nitro, but if they stall in the air, you can still float them in to a perfect landing. Stall a boat and you're "in deep".
The Villain IV will be in your budget, the Nitro V won't.

Well traxxas has a return to shore deal on there nitro V so if it did stall you wouldn't worry about anything. I'll give you some links of a couple electrics tough http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0161p?&I=LZ1273**.