New to Rc boat need pro advice

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sharkbyte

RC Newbie
Reaction score
What’s happening lol
Need a little pro help since I’m new to the Rc boat world. I received this boat from my dad and was wondering how to improve it.

2FE18A8B-58F7-439E-92AF-F2C4626111A4.jpeg

I think after research it’s a great planes wildcat boat with twin 550 brushed motors.

I would like to restore it since it was my dads and would like to know the best parts to put in this. So figured go to the pros. Lol

Right now I have a list of the following but haven’t purchased them. Would like opinions

Hobbywing 880 esc

PlugVenom 7.2V 3000mAh 6-Cell NiMH Battery with Universal Plug

Surpass Hobby Waterproof 5-Slot 550 Brushed Motor 12T

S erounder 36MM Water Cooling Jacket for Motor Vehicle,Alloy Heat Dissipation

Please let know what you guys think and if there would be a better solution

Attachments

• DF99F593-6DDE-4E9E-A3D1-B76A65E8EA33.jpeg
    DF99F593-6DDE-4E9E-A3D1-B76A65E8EA33.jpeg
    336.6 KB · Views: 83
  • A5D3CF7A-8D84-482B-95C9-7487D2783D48.jpeg
    A5D3CF7A-8D84-482B-95C9-7487D2783D48.jpeg
    173.3 KB · Views: 83
Thank you for your help
Do you think it would be worth swapping everything out and new charger?

Thank you for your help
Do you think it would be worth swapping everything out and new charger?
You will get better performance and battery life out of a brushless setup and LiPo batteries. Brushed motors that run at speeds just weren't made to last. Brushes wear out and need replaced. Back in the day, that is all that was available. Since brushless has become what it is now, the only thing I would ever run a brushed motor in is a crawler, and even those it's too easy to find a nice brushless setup that will perform as good or better nowadays.