Rustler wheelies

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gamboh

RC Newbie
Reaction score
I have some duratrax monster truck wheels on the back of my rustler, and Amazon SCT wheels on the fronts.

The rustler is doing a lot of wheelies, and understeers heavily all the time except while braking.

What sort of wheels and tires would be a better choice for rough off-road racing? We have a mixed class series with all kinds of trucks. Do regular stadium truck wheels fit?

I'm new to ST, only know about SCT.

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks guys.

IMG_20230611_015436196.jpg

IMG_20230611_015500562.jpg

IMG_20230611_015303405.jpg

Welcome to RCT. Awesome truck! Thanks for sharing pics 😁

Racing tread stadium truck tires and half of the ride height you have right now.
Exactly.

If you want to be remotely competitive in ST, which you're already handicapped with a a Rustler, 2.2" ST tires appropriate for the track, and drop it a great deal. You'll also have to figure out springs and shock oil for the specific track, but I'd start with medium rate springs and 30 wt oil.

Proline & JConcepts are my go-to names for buggy and ST tires.

You'll still get clobbered by drivers running Associated, TLR, Xray, Schumacher, Tekno, etc. kits that are built for racing, but at least you'll be able to keep it rubber side down and land some jumps.

I agree with what's been said above. My brother and I run rustler 2wd's against each other on a track at home. It's dusty hard pack clay. TBH the stock Alias tires do really well on it. I've tried some DTX sct tires with less than great results, too skinny. The rustler is a fine rig for scrimmage racing but, not gonna cut it against any legit racing stadium trucks IMO. The weight bias is just all wrong, plus adjustability just isn't really there.