Couple of ?s!

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

charliejp

Hardcore RCTalk User
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
I finally got all my crawler stuff here. I started hooking up all the electrics and now I just have to solder the motor wires but I'm having a real hard time. I just got a little cheapy solder gun at the auto parts store. Where or who makes a good one? Does Radio Shack have a decent one that will work? I'm very limited here to availability.

Can I just run the truck to discharge the batteries or do I need to do something else? The lipos instructions say to charge and discharge a few time to get maximum power supply. I'm a total noob to this electric stuff and am slightly overwhelmed.

A good quality battery charger also has a battery discharge mode too...you should use that...you're not supposed to put a load on the brand new batteries to discharge them..If you use the truck to discharge them you might aswell skip the rest of the procedure...You want to charge the battery full and then discharge w/o load.The next time its fully charged it will charge up stronger than before...doing this 2-3 times insures maximum battery charge life and useage......

Any solder gun that can heat above 750 degrees is a good one....the problem is probably your solder or soldering technics.....to solder wires you must cut and strip the wire and heat the wire with the iron and then take liquid flux and dip the wire then reheat before tinning or use the rosin core solder and tin the wire with the solder first to get an easy quality connection...

Last edited:
This is the charger that I bought http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXPZT6 . How important is this battery cycling? Will it seriously effect the life of the lipos to just use them?