What to look for when buying a used revo..

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mostasteless

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
Hey, I'm not a complete RC virgin, I have a Slash and know a little about electric RCs but I want a gas RC. Enter Revo.... Anyways I'm looking to buy a used one and I want to know what to look for to know its in good running order.
Also, sorry if this is a repost, but what are some very basic things I need to know about Revos in regaurds to common problems, matinence (Obviously clean airfilters, I come from a MX background) And what are basic parts I should purchase or replace instantly... Gas recomendations, and anything else I may have forgotten.

P.S. My names Nick and I'm new to the fourm :D

Well the first thing to know is that I am selling one LOL https://www.rcnitrotalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=91185

There are many diferant versions of the revo, you want to make sure your not buying a 2.5 with a 3.3 engine slapped in it...........

You want to pay ROUGHLY half what a new one would cost if your buying used. Look for OBVIOUS problems, smashed parts ect. Check for radio reception at a distance, check for servo responce and power. A used and abused motor can act like a new engine so.............. basically assume its gonna need an engine sooner or later.

hey whats wrong with a 2.5 that had a 3.3 put in it thats whhat i did . so what is the difference between a 2.5 and a 3.3 revo . (REALLY)

The 3.3 has a longer chassis and a slightly different transmission housing as well as a brace on the motor mount to help prevent the chassis from cracking.

The 3.3 chassis handles better IMO.