Shredding the tires on my UDIRC 1604 1/16 Rally Car

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Burned-Out_Motor

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
Hi!!

I am new to RC and just got a brushed UDIRC 1/16 rally car that I’m very happy with. I bought two extra Lithium Ion 7.4v 1200 mAh battery packs to use with it. I’m using rubber tires, not drift tires. I’m running the car in a school parking lot on concrete.

Each battery pack is about 15 - 18 minutes, I’ve run thru 4 battery packs so far which is around an hour of bashing and mainly practicing controlling the car so I don’t destroy it. So far the car’s only been run hard about an hour.

Wow - look at the tires!!!

816AE07D-0225-474E-9AC1-B8F5F6DEA225.jpeg

7B5BEB86-3DF4-4E9A-BF5C-B8B9EAFE77D1.jpeg

F5393EA2-80C6-401C-870F-89E870D15E18.jpeg
7392FCFD-5AB5-4E62-8523-378E7CCC7955.jpeg

I think another hour of doing laps around the parking lot will wear the tread right off so I ordered two replacement sets of wheels/tires for it.

Is this wear normal?

Would a higher quality wheel/tire from a different 1/16 scale brand work better? I note most 1/16 scale RC vehicles are crawlers. Most importantly, I need to know - are most 1/16 scale wheels for electric RC vehicles compatible with each other? If so, what do you guys recommend for concrete?

I don’t have a big smooth area to drift so I’m only going to be able to run this car on concrete. When these rubber tires wear out (probably by tomorrow), I’ll have to put the hard plastic drift wheels that also came with it on. Will they work on concrete?

Sorry for all the new guy questions.