DIY: High Speed / Drift tires

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Positron Design

RCTalk Member
Reaction score
I was watching British YouTubers at ROSSA, setting speed records.
A common problem was a lot of tires were exploding. Especially the foam tires. As an engineer I saw this as a 'using the wrong material for the job' problem.
First thought was - use a skateboard tire. So I fired up CAD and designed a R/C wheel with a urethane tire.

Rossa-1.jpg

When I priced getting this prototyped in 3D printed rubber it would cost over $400!
Hmmm... What else is like rubber and shaped like a donut? A Hose!
I found that a 3" I.D. 4-ply 5mm thick reinforced silicone automotive Turbo tube is a perfect fit for my 3"/2.2" wheels.
A 4" hose will fit 4" 1:8 scale wheels. It is is best that the wheels have minimal ribs or are flat.
$25 for a 6" long tube. Then It was easy to slice the tube into 4 x 1.5" rings / tires with a utility knife. But it's hard to cut it in a perfect straight line.

ROSSA-wheel-tire1.jpg

Cutting the ribs is easy, but be careful. The wheel plastic is very thin. I made a few mistakes so go slow.
You can see that my wheels are 3", but the outside bead is 2.2". A wheel with different inside and outside bead diam. is best.
It makes the tires go on easier if you don't need to cut many beads / ribs.

ROSSA-wheel-tire2.jpg

Be sure to roughen the wheel and tire with sandpaper before gluing. I forgot and the first time I crashed, the tire popped off of the wheel... no damage. Then I checked the other tires, peeled the rubber back a bit and used more tire glue.