Problem to get the MGT to start

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Knoen

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
I just bought the MGT and I had a lot of problem to even get it started, some times like one in an hour I got it to run like 10-seconds then it dies. I am a rookie to NITRO RC so I have no clue where the problem is. I have looked so it don´t get flooded. I turned the high needle so more fuel got the engine. But when I drag the dragstart it get stucked so I think it is to much fuel to the engine, so I set it back to industry setting. I don’t use the hexstart because I want to know if the engine got flooded.

Sometimes when the dragstart feels stuck and I release the glowplug it´s got a lot easier.

But even if the engine was not flooded it was quite hard to pull it, but I have no references

Anyway the thread in my dragstart broke just under the puller, I did´nt pull to hard or to long I think it just looked wear out. I have been pulling a lot and probably wrong.

So anyway I think I need to dissemble the engine now, the happy side is that I will probably learn something about the engine.

First you need to yank that short plug in there and drop in a MC-59 or a long plug. Heat range depends on your area. Now Is this Brand new? I know that you need to set your needles a certain way to break them in but I am not sure if it stays the same with the new plug. I Left them the same way through break in and then tuned for more power. I also ziptied all lines to nipples fo a sure connection.

Let us know

Jon

Knoen, man, don't start by taking the engine apart. I think the statistic is something like 90% of all running issues are related to tuning, so that is what I would suspect in your case.