OFNA 9.5 or Hyper 7?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

agjell

RCTalk Basher
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
I'm a newb in the 1/8 class as well as the buggy world, and I'm currently considering to buy an OFNA. Originally I thought of the Ultra LX Pro or the Ultra MBX Pro, but I think I want something better. The last few days I've been trying to decide whether to buy the 9.5 or the Hyper 7, but its impossible :dumb: What's the big differences between these cars? What engine is better; the H.21 8p or the F.26? I need a car suitable for bashing, I don't race and I don't plan to either. I also want high speed and durability. Which of the cars is best suited for my needs?

I read a lot of places that the radio and servos that comes with regular RTR kits are poop, and that you at least should change the steering servo at once. I'll need a reliable but affordable servo, hopefully under $50, please make recommendations.
How about the throttle servo, does that also has to be changed?
I also read that the included starter in the OFNA kits wont even make your engine start. Is this true? If so: please recommend an affordable starter that works. What's the point of including a starter that wont start your engine anyways? :wtf:

From what I get from what you want, I'd suggest the 9.5 Violator. I've never ran this buggy, but a lot of people have told me that it's one hell of a basher. It's got a decent engine in it's pretty tough. It'd be more of a basher than the H7 probably. The 9.5V has the wider wheel base for better handling, and a larger fuel tank for longer run times.