FMS Wash colors

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WPLGOODIE

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
Hello -

I plan on weathering a FMS FCX24 yellow Power Wagon. I was wondering what color washes to use for the Yellow body, Black fenders and Red wheels... enamels or acrylics?

I'm new to all of this weathering stuff. Any help would be great!

Thanks!

The way I weathered everything was with chalks. But that was small scalle stuff at 1:160 (N scale railroading).
20140205_083731_zps86704ee6.jpg

20140205_212823_zps44e9dd3e.jpg

20140206_231928_zps02a11372.jpg

Basically you just dust the vehicle with hair spray, dust on the chalks, add some rust paint to really rusty areas, then cover with a matte clear.

For the Power Wagon, I'd probably use the same approach if I didn't want to repaint it. Because if I were to really go at it, I'd paint the entire thing a dark brown rust color, sprinkle some salt on the wet paint, then paint with an orange rust color and repeat the salt, then paint with my body color of choice. Then after drying, I'd scrub the salt off to reveal the various rust shades, then finish weathering with chalks.

If you are using washes, I would use a burnt sienna or any other brown, black will give it too much contrast. I would recommend spraying a coat of matte clear before adding your washes, helps give them something to stick too, and it helps the over all aging look.

No matter what you decide enamel, or acrylic (I personally like acrylics) remember to use thin coats let it dry and build it up layer by layer. by letting it dry between coats it helps you to keep from over doing it.

I also like pastels for adding weathering, I use both methods. Look up some weathering vids on youtube, some really good stuff out there.