Battery storage question - Store in ammo can?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Flyboy666

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
Newbie here - I've got three new Spektrum G2 3S 30C batteries that I bought to use with my new Aeroscout, once the weather gets warmer. They are all discharged to 3.78 V, the recommended storage voltage. At that voltage, how important is it that I store them in some type of fireproof container like an ammo can or battery-safe bag?
I've of course read the horror stories about LIPO batteries exploding or catching fire, but it seems to be either when they are fully charged or have a load on them. So I am not seeing any real issue in just storing them in their original cardboard boxes, at the designated storage voltage.
Once I charge them fully before flying, I would of course put them in the ammo can. But I am talking about storage when the battery is at storage voltage.
Am I underestimating the risk, and should I be storing them in some sort of fireproof container even at storage voltage?
Thanks

Agreed what 9x19 said.

I use Amazon fireproof bags, since the local tracks require them and I use it to transport my batteries and charger and charge leads to the track and back.

Before I started racing, I used my original lipo bag I had, and I also stored new batteries in the box they came in for a short while.

As long as they are balanced cells, and around 3.8v per cell (storage charge) you should be good.

Store in a cool and dry place. I have mine in my basement. Cool, and dry. And that's where I have my workbench at so it's convenient.
PXL_20240211_005717796.jpg

If you use a ammo can remove rubber seal at top. drill a vent hole in can.. put a smoke detector in cam or by hole....
some lipo safe bags fail under a lipo fire