RJ Speed Speedway Sprinter

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Iowa crawler

Hardcore RCTalk User
Build Thread Contributor
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Racing
  2. Crawling
  3. Scale Builder
  4. Flying
This is going to be an adventure.
I went to the nearest track to race indoor off road buggies. I have been kinda interested in oval track but could not figure out the classes and schedule. After racing off-road dirt all summer I have kinda gotten to know people and who race what during the winter. After talking to the owner for a couple hours really, if you add it all up. I decided to go with an RJ Speed Speedway sprinter. The track calls them USAC midgets to separate the class from the ones with big wings on the roof.
As a total newbie to carpet I have been watching a ton of videos and then talking to the shop owner I have to get a quick tutorial on tire cleaning and compound. Plus a bunch of other tips.
There are plenty of Legends videos information out there but not much on this kit.
I bought the kit and all the hop up parts that are allowed. Plus all the lubes and tire compounds, bearings, brushless motor/ ESC two battery packs, the works and it cost less than $600.00. That is for EVERYTHING in one shot with advice from someone that has three world championships. So I’m starting from scratch and jumping in to racing it in about two weeks.

D858987C-14CD-4609-BA56-A7946069AF6C.jpeg

701AED09-81F3-4C86-A09E-767ACF4525D5.jpeg

Buddy, buddy, buddy. I'll be cheering you on from the cheap seats. :thumbs-up: :thumbs-up:

Oh, and no harm no foul with the 'midget' designation. On a tight track they'll run with the big cars.

'AC' (1970s USAC wingless sprint 1:1 crew)

Last edited: