T-Maxx 3.3 (Noob With Questions)

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mudlife

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Hey all,

I am new as you can see, I look forward to learning alot from you all. I am pretty new to nitro, not to mechanics though.

I had a Savage 4.6 with a K5.9 Big Block I recently traded for a T-Maxx 3.3, And a Ofna Hyper 7 Buggy. I definatly came out better being he gave up all spare parts and both RX/TX for both vehicles.

On to my questions/issues.

T-Maxx was way out of tune, he told me this prior to trading, not a big deal to me as I plan on a overhaul any ways. I have been down with a torn rotator cuff in my left arm and haven't touched the truck until today (traded 3 weeks ago)

Installed new glow plug, (igniter light on ez start did not light, so I used my Hot Shot 2 igniter). Set HSN/LSN to stock, truck did not start until it was waaay rich, upon starting I noticed it pushing fuel out of the head (as if a blown head gasket). It actually idled drove it around the yard for about 10 mins, brought it back, no fuel coming out of the head while running. It was rich for sure but actually pulled a wheelie.

I am going to order a new 3.3 engine soon (unless there is a better option for $120 shipped). My question is where should I start on a repair to this engine? The truck has good compression as I can see.

If this were a truck it would be a head gasket, does this need a new head button? Should I do a complete rebuild? Where should I start?

I will be getting a new motor but why trash this one when I could rebuild and hold as a spare?

Second question truck is stock, only mods to it is aluminum bulkhead in the front end. I have some money in paypal, what should I upgrade first?