Is she toast?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aMawds

RCTalk Racer
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Racing
So I was running an OS .30VG in an Ofna X1 Truggy. I've been going to the track locally and learning the race line, learning how to tune engines, suspension etc. Basically, I'm a noob to nitro and land racing. I'm learning fast, and giving some of the other guys a run for their money with an old rig design and a less than optimal engine. However, the engine was running sweet and was working fine for me. I planned to drop a .21 in it very very soon but wanted to get some reasonable life out of this motor and keep it as a spare motor just in case, since it held such a great tune and ran circles around the more expensive rigs in the technical parts of the track as long as I kept my finger out of the throttle in the turns :hehe:

Pretty much out of nowhere, the engine stopped idling properly. Flame outs every time I tried to allow it to idle longer than a second. I assumed clutch bearings and a weather based tune issue. Clutch bearings didn't seem terrible, and after just tearing into it today the front bearing is notchy but I don't think it was bad enough to cause such idling issues. Could be very wrong. I had a guy help me tune it and he ended up going way leaner on the low end and richer on the top. From there it ran like crap. I tuned it myself and it was back to blowing a healthy amount of smoke and running like a stripped ape, but still refuses to idle. I tried leaning the hell out of the low end again and could get nothing but a high idle or no idle at all. Just when I'd think it was idling alright, I'd run the track twice and it would flame out off throttle.