I'm downloading Mandrake 9.2 Right now

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
WINDOW XP PRO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Until the 64 bit OS from windows gets easy to get my hands on.
:) :) :) don't :smoke:

Originally posted by newnitrofan
Ok so sorry for sounding like a total newbie to Linux but what makes it so way cool over windows. I'm not fighting the conversion actually but am curious about the program. Later

I think what makes Linux cool is the fact that it was originally created by programmers and hobbyist through out the world.

One of the other cool things about linux is the fact that lets say there was something you would want to add to the OS, if you had the knowledge and the time you could actually make those changes to the OS. Under the license agreement of linux you must include the source code along with the OS. So you could actually make changes to the source code and distribute your own flavor of linux nitrofan-linux.

I am not sure what the number is right now but there are a huge number of linux web-server out there on the net. we might even be connected to one right now on this forum. Do you want to know what the cost of running a linux web-server is? well it will only cost you the price of the hardware you install it on. Yes you will see people charging for linux, but what your really paying for is a manual and probably a year support contract for help.

Other neat things are.... you can actually run flavors of the linux OS of of a floppy disk. It can be as bloated or paired down as you want. I could write about this all day LOL... Ok I will stop now LOL

sLY