baja 5b ss or 2.0?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Runaway Jim

RCTalk Talkaholic
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
I'm thinking of getting a baja but am torn between the ss kit or the rtr 2.0. I have radio gear, all I'd need is a throttle servo. Is the stuff that comes with the ss kit that much better than the standard equipment on the rtr? Also I've never built a rig before. I currently have revo 3.3 and a losi 8ight rtr, version before 2.0. I've been through each of them a few times so even though they both came rtr, I built them each a few times over. Do you think I'm getting in over my head with the 5b ss kit?

i built the kit as my first one, and made it with no major mess ups. i think the only thing the SS comes with that the 2.0 doesn't is the 26cc engine.

if you can put together a desk from walmart, you got the SS whipped.

personally i would get the ss because it has the bigger motor and you get the enjoyment of putting it together

SS, definitely, no question about it. Building it was the most fun I've ever had working on a rig, and the satisfaction of knowing that YOU built it is worth the wait of the build time twice over.

And yes, the SS parts are THAT much better, or at least they were. The 2.0 closed the gap a bit.

Plus by building it you save about 300 bucks. SS kit=$899, RTR = $1199

Yea like everyone else I am going with the SS also.

The 26cc and the build is worth the saving of $300.00 (now that didn't make much sence, anyways :p::p:) yea get the SS.

If I could ever afford one I would go with the ss

I built the SS and it was a lot of fun. The 26cc engine is bad to the bone. Nothing like rooster tails of grass and leaving the ground bald.....love it. Also save a good bit on money building it yourself too.