Where do I go from Here? (Break-In Question)

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

motoro

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
I'm new at this Nitro thing so take it easy on me. Anyway,
I have an Ultra LX Comp that I received for Christmas. I read the instructions in the manual as far a breaking it in and tried to follow them as best as I could (very confusing). Well this is exactly what I did right or wrong. The first time I started it, it started just fine I took its temp. and it stayed at 200 deg. at low rpm. But what I think I did (at least that what I've been reading) wrong was I ran the car until it ran out of fuel. I let it completely cool at bdc and repeated the above one time. The 3rd time I started it, I blipped it on the ground at low rpm (figure 8) until it stalled (at this point I was just getting ready to start messing with the needle to tune it). Upon restarting I broke the pull string (sits for a month). Now that I have a starter box I want to resume breaking it in, but I've got the feeling I've been doing it all wrong. Where do I go from here? Is it possible to start the process over by heat cycling (ex. on for 2-3 minutes then cool), or are there any other suggestions on resuming the break in.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.