Schumacher XTR .21 Help Needed

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jasonc0902

RCTalk Basher
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
I just got my xtr running. I saw some white smoke. I am using 20%. Can somebody offer help on tunning the engine to maximize my power. I assume the white smoke is ok. There isn't too much coming out. I am new to the nitro scene. Any help is appreciated. :cheers: Tks!

Have you broken in the engine? The blueish white smoke is a good thing. You need some to know that it is lubricating... I dont know how it is running, since you didnt state how it is running... do a search on tuning and see what you come up with... There have been many articles about it.

What engine is in it? Is it the TT Pro21R?

Should be but others have changed it out and just transfered the drill start to the pull motor.

I bought it used. It is the Pro.21, what is the difference between tt vs pro? I am not sure how to tune? Any suggestions.

TT is just short for Thunder Tiger.

If I were you, I would retune that Pro21R engine. Stock settings from the factory are 2 1/2 turns from closed on the HSN and 1/2 turn out from flush on the LSN.

As you run the car to warm it up, make note of the smoke, there should be a lot because it's running rich. After it's warm, turn the HSN 1/4 turn in the clockwise direction (leaner). Make a few runs back and forth. Adjust the needle 1/4 of a turn at a time till you get the performance you like. Keep track of the smoke. If there is little to no smoke, it's running a little lean. This is where the temps come in to play.