t maxx trans stripping primary gear

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bullet6599

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
I have a t maxx 2.5 which currently is powered by a 3.3. I run the truck for about 3 minutes then the primary gear strips it teeth. Is my problem in the trans or is the problem the slipper clutch? I am new to the hobby so any help is appreciated.

I have a t maxx 2.5 which currently is powered by a 3.3. I run the truck for about 3 minutes then the primary gear strips it teeth. Is my problem in the trans or is the problem the slipper clutch? I am new to the hobby so any help is appreciated.
The slipper clutch gear on outside of trans?

With slipper clutch gears stripping, its usually the engine is where it needs to be. Engine & mounts need to be tight... I've been told u want about enough room between the spur gear & bellhouse gear for a thin piece of paper to fit snugly.

The gears in question are inside the trans. Am not sure if the clutch is set too tight

The gears in question are inside the trans. Am not sure if the clutch is set too tight
Is there any play in the trans housing where the bearings sit? I never stripped any gears in my 3.3 till i put a lrp30 on it. Now i have Robison racing steel gears... Sux losing reverse tho

Is there any play in the trans housing where the bearings sit? I never stripped any gears in my 3.3 till i put a lrp30 on it. Now i have Robison racing steel gears... Sux losing reverse tho
Maybe bad bearings? The gears in the trans should be set up to where they don't strip, unless a bearing is bouncing around in the housing, or a bearing is messed up