First rc Arrma Gorgon vs Traxxas slash XL-5

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cocoune

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi ! I'm 30 years old. I'm new to rc cars and want to buy my first one
I know that there is alot of threads on those 2 cars but I feel the need to ask some questions about costs etc.

I want to explain first why I dont buy the vxl or higher priced vehicules right away. I dont know if ill like the hobby, or take the time to enjoy it. So i dont want to pay to much to starts and i want to maybe upgrade. If i pay alot first buy, i wont really enjoy the modification side of the hobby.
But at the same time I see how upgrades can be a dangerous money pit. I can. But i feel i should put my money elswhere. No offense !

I was pretty ready to buy a gorgon. I want to go offroad, go in parks, rocks, sand, gravel, maybe jumps etc. Everybody seems to agree that the gorgon is better than the stempede 2wd. Thats why i thought it was a good choice. It looks like a lot of fun to drive and bash. Good stability and handling, good tires, good air control for a 2wd and looks really solid. I plan to put gorilla tape on the body if i get it.

So I went to my local shop to see if they had it. They have Arrma and Traxxas. I think theyve been around for 30+ years and have an amazing reputation in the area.

He didnt have it in stock and needed to order it. He admitted that he was not familliar with the Gorgon BUT. He talked with me for about 30mins. It was really cool and helped me alot for my research on youtube etc.