Course construction help

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

msphill88

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hello,

First off, first time poster so hello everyone! When I got into the hobby just a year ago I was in Omaha NE and had access to a large store with an in-door track and it was fantastic and I had many experts at hand to help. I have since moved to Northern NY and lack close hobby shops, courses, and any real experts. Due to that, I think I will be posting regularly here as I honestly don't know all that much.

I currently own an ARMMA Big Rock, Typhon 3s, and a Traxxas Slash Ultimate. I'm trying to build myself a track so I can enjoy them, but also get other friends into the hobby. I tried using a a Kubota compact tractor and a box scraper (which I am also very new to using) but after hours of work I didn't really cut into the top soil much. I also tried just taking a mower and putting it on the lowest setting which helped, but still not quite where I need to be. I had read that people also suggest using weed/grass killer on the track area to help get you down to the dirt faster too, however since we rely on ground water and our well, I'm reluctant to start spraying chemicals if it can be avoided. So, with all that said, I'm here looking for some advice and to be told how I've done everything wrong! Whether its track building advice or how to properly use a tractor I am all ears.

Thanks!

Kubota compact tractor and a box scraper (which I am also very new to using) but after hours of work I didn't really cut into the top soil much.