can't run won't run! please help!!!

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cornish crum

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Hi guys. Please don't be put off by the length of this! I really could use your advice and help.
About 14 months ago my wife bought me my first ever niro rc "build it yourself" kit (she's a keeper!!) and I spent the next while building it piece by peice. I'm completely new to all this but I really enjoyed the build process and the kit came with glow starter, fuel and plug so I thought I was ready to roll. To start with I had difficulty getting it to start but this was helped by the mail-order company telling me the stock needle settings. Started it ok then and managed to run in about 2.5 tanks through before it stopped and wouldn't start again.
Life then got in the way (house move, job change, etc) and so the car sat just there looking pretty for the good part of 6 months (sacrillige i know!). I've come back to it a couple of times since but have yet to get it to even sound like it was gonna start (I think the first time I blew too much fuel into the carb and flooded it) and now I've got a car that still looks brand new but hasn't run for pretty much a year.
It has sat with half a tank in it ( recently emptied it and washed it through with more fuel- no joy) and when I plug the glow charger into the plug the coil itself glows bright but only the initial coiled part and not the whole bit of tungsten (or whatever the coil's made of!!). Does this constitute a fouled plug? Has leaving residual fuel or not using after run oil in it done any damage to the engine? Does it need stripping down and starting again?