Best way to discharge a Spektrum G2 battery to storage voltage?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Flyboy666

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
Newbie here - I'm a bit confused as to whether there is a "best" or "recommended" way to discharge a Spektrum G2 battery down to its storage voltage after flying. That is, should I simply let the battery self-discharge to its storage voltage (within 72 hours per the factory setting), or should I put it on my S1100 G2 charger and pick the "Storage" function so the charger does it?
Seems that both ways accomplish the same thing, so I am thinking to simply let the batteries self-discharge.
This is what Spektrum says on its website promoting Smart Technology:
"Automatic Safe Storage
Smart batteries discharge automatically to a safe storage voltage for longer life and improved performance. Use the battery’s default Auto Storage settings or program them with your own preferences using a Smart device."
I realize that you can use the charger to adjust the number of hours it takes for the battery to automatically drop to storage voltage (it's factory set to 72 hours), but other than that, I don't see why I would need to use the charger itself to get the battery to storage voltage, since the battery will do this on its own.
Any thoughts or advice, or am I missing something?
Thanks

Use the storage function. I can't see the battery doing it on it's own being accurate.
There's a reason chargers have a storage function.

+1 Tunedfrog.

I always choose the storage option on the charger over the self-discharge option of the battery.