Miss Budweiser Hydroplane Help Needed

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Monkey Wrench

My last words will likely be, Crap that didn't wo
Supporter
Build Thread Contributor
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
OK, so I bought this Miss Budweiser hydroplane boat from this goober named NCNitro. Ran it a bit last summer and decided to get it out the other day for a twirl on the pond. Problem is (and this has nothing to do with NCNitro, just bustin's his chops a bit) that the prop doesn't seem to have any "bite" in the water. Prop spins and the boat moves, but even at WOT, it barely moves.

This thing moved liked a raped ape in the water last year and I'm a novice to boats, so I'm at a loss as to why this is happening.

Checked the connections of the prop to the shaft and the shaft to the engine and all seems good and tight, so I don't think anything is slipping (although I almost wish I had a clutch, so it could idle without spinning the prop).

So, any ideas, wet-heads? Any help appreciated!

Have you changed anything at all that would affect the balance? It sounds like cavitation.
Start out real slow, and very slowly gain speed, and see if it responds to that.
It could either be the trim tabs or the pitch of the prop.

Have you changed anything at all that would affect the balance? It sounds like cavitation.
Start out real slow, and very slowly gain speed, and see if it responds to that.
It could either be the trim tabs or the pitch of the prop.

No, at least not on purpose. The only thing I've done is change the prop because the one I had on it last year cracked.

Did you change anything about the prop, or did you replace it with an exact replacement part?