LRP ZR .32 ENGINE BROKED CONECTING LINK

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Manolo762

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
HELLO, I RESENTLY PURCHASED AN LRP .32 ZR AND DID A 5 TANK RUNNING/STATIC BREAK IN, I ADJUSTED THE NEEDLES GENTLY AND TOOK IT FOR A RUN, THE ENGINE BROKE AFTER THE FIRST TANK DURING A SPRINT, I OPENED IT AND FOUND A THE PISTON CONECTING ROD DISINTEGRATED ON THE PART THAT CONNECTS THE CRANKSHAFT, I ORDERED A SECOND ENGINE NOW AND IS READY FOR ACTION, ANY THOUGHTS ABOUT WHAT CAN BE THE PROBLEM ???? ANY COMMENTS WILL BE APPRECIATED , I AM NEW TO THIS
THANX!

i would say try the heat cycle method next time and be gentle with the engine for the first half gallon at least, if not the whole first gallon through the engine. Improper/insufficient break in plus "sprints" could lead to conrods breaking. the break in period is paramount and even once your done with the "break-in" itself the engine will still continue to be broken in during the next 1/2 to 1 gallon of fuel. Also in the future you can just order the parts to rebuild the engine you dont necessarily have to replace the entire engine. Just FYI.

Id think youd need him to shout as old as you are Ralph! hehehehehe :rolex:

i would say try the heat cycle method next time and be gentle with the engine for the first half gallon at least, if not the whole first gallon through the engine. Improper/insufficient break in plus "sprints" could lead to conrods breaking. the break in period is paramount and even once your done with the "break-in" itself the engine will still continue to be broken in during the next 1/2 to 1 gallon of fuel. Also in the future you can just order the parts to rebuild the engine you dont necessarily have to replace the entire engine. Just FYI.