Break in problem

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blind4x4

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Hi guys. Okay I’m new to all this. Hi have a Savage X 4.6 that I never got running and stored it years ago. I finally got around to it and the break in is really getting me. The thing is, I can get it to turn on and take off glow starter as long as there is throttle. Si basically, as I have to set my controller to have throttle set up so when it starts it can stay on. As I attempt to decrease the number so the wheels won’t be spinning like crazy it just cuts out. I can’t get the engine to idle without the throttle engaged. I hope this all makes sense. I have everything set to factory settings according to the HPI manual. So I am just stumped.

Hi, okay I went ahead and got to the carb to see it better and adjust the screw like in the video. The thing is, that I don’t see it moving at all. I have one picture with the screw going in and the other with the screw out. I don’t see a difference. What could be happening? Never adjusted this before as this engine is just being broken in. Tell me what you think.

IMG_3929.jpeg

IMG_3928.jpeg

Ah okay wrong screw sorry
Okay now I got it to move. According to the video he said larger engine 1 mm. This is the picture of how it looks now. Hopefully it’s at 1mm, it looks it.

Attachments

• IMG_3931.jpeg
    IMG_3931.jpeg
    335.8 KB · Views: 34
Last edited:
id suggest you download owners manual . so then you know where the idle screw is. I see it in your picture I also see that the carb idle is little under what one wants . its the brass screw at end of carb.