What's the difference in f4.6 and k4.6

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dubsdad4

RCTalk Member
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
I'm new to the nitro world, just bough a savage f4.6. While looking for upgrade I saw the k4.6 and was wondering what is the difference

The f4.6 is alot better than the k4.6. You will like the f4.6 for the money that's a little bad motor that comes on them trucks. They used to have the k 4.6 on them but now they make them with the f4.6 which is alot better and the upgraded motor. Basically the f4.6 is the upgraded version of the k4.6. I have a f4.6 on one of my savages and that truck runs amazing wheelies on command. I've had 6 gallons through it and haven't had any problems with it. I love it

The K4.6 only came with the SS kit, not the RTR. The F4.6 has always come on the RTR SavageX 4.6. The K4.6HO came in the Hellfire. The newer F4.6 has a different color cooling head, the older ones were purple. The K has a MSN and was supposed to be an 'upgrade' motor(hence it came with the SS kit, which had all the 'upgrades'), and it is the exact same motor as the Axial .28 Spec1.

But I digress, if you are looking for an upgrade motor, steer WAY clear of getting another HPI engine. There are so many more options out there that will FAR out-perform, outlast, tune easier, and interestingly enough they are usually even less expensive than the HPI engines.

Last edited:
What y'all opinion then lpr or nova? I now the no a is more pricey, so I guess it's still you get what you pay for.