One for the Rattlers

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Racer 1966

What are we doing today?
Supporter
Build Thread Contributor
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
First off let me say, I'm not a painting expert by any means. My paint jobs are usually 50/50 paint jobs. :hehe: But Pactra has come out with some nice new rattle can paints. I tried one of the colors out and really liked it so I thought I would share my experience.

For my body I used the Pro-Line Early 50's truck body. I usually don't but since most experts recommend it, this time I trimmed and fit the body to the truck first.
Like this:
bodyfit.JPG

For the painting, I decided I would try some chrome trim using SpazStix in rattle can form. So I masked off what I wanted, old school tape and paper style. Someday I gotta try the liquid mask.

body2.JPG

After spraying the chrome, I remasked the bed to make it black too. Since the chrome needs black backing, I could do both at the same time :)
Now for the new Pactra paint. I choose the Cobalt Blue. Right away I noticed this paint was different. Very thin and not what you expect to see in color. The color coats left me wondering if I was doing something wrong. It was very milky/opaque looking.

body3.JPG

A couple of things to be learned here. Allow plenty of time, shake the can extra well and use many LIGHT coats. I didn't and ended up with a few areas where it was obviously not right. On with the painting. The second stage for this paint is also a black backing.

body4.JPG