Thunder Tiger EB4 Rally Game

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Madrab

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi There,

newbie here so please be gentle :)

Just got my TT out of storage, did the usual strip down, clean, lubricate etc.

It will start but it will not run on/tick over.

As there is no pump on the tank, I use a piece of pipe to pressurise tank and fuel flows no bother to prime the engine. Car starts but cuts out as the priming fuel is used up. I can keep the engine running by pressurising the tank via the pipe in my mouth but when I transfer to the pipe from the exhaust it cuts out, as if there's no pressure from the exhaust to the tank. Have cleaned out all the fuel and breather pipes, nipple on the exhaust etc. I can blow through the exhaust with both ends sealed and the nipple is clear. I have tested the tank cap seal in case it had perished but seal is fine.

Kinda stumped, hope someone has some ideas as to where to go with it now??

Cheers
Rob

Last edited:
Sounds like your fuel lines are clear but you're not getting a decent prime blowing into the fuel tank.
Have you tried plugging the exhaust tip with your finger while pulling the pull start?
With the exhaust tip plugged the engine should draw fuel as the piston goes up and down
If it doesn't, you may need to richen your carb adjustments or check for blockage in the carb

Appreciate the replies guys.

Usually with this tank, as there's no thumb pump, I prime by attaching a pipe to the breather and blow enough fuel in to prime, with the throttle open 1/4 priming does not seem to be the problem, as it will run for about 5 secs on that. Tank just doesn't seem to get pressurised, as I can usually see fuel flow through the clear pipes.
I'll give that a try though.