Swapping out nitro engines

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

buggy_will

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Racing
Hi guys, I have a duratrax 835B 1/8 nitro buggy, and interested in putting a racing engine into it, what all do I need to know before ordering and installing a different engine, the questions I have are can I put a different brand engine in there or does it have to be duratrax and also how hard is it really to do, I am in the auto repair business and pretty handy with my hands when it comes to anything with an engine but I am new to the nitro rc world so any help would be greatly appreciated.

You should be able to fit just about any BB engine into it. If you want a racing engine then you need to look at high rpm .21 engines. Make sure that the engine has the same type of start method (bump, pullstart, etc), and make sure if has the same type of carb (slide vs rotary), and make sure that the exhaust port is the same shape and location as the stock engine for the best compatibility. It is possible to change these things but can make it more complicated to complete the task. Oh, also make sure the crank shaft length is the same. that part isnt changeable although I've personally nto seen many engines that use the shorter crankshafts. To be honest I'm not even sure why there are a handful that have that. Well, thats about all I can think of off the top of my head.