SavageX 4.6 big block suspension ?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pitt1717

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
so after a year i decided to pull her out and fix her up from the last bashing (lost shaft pin, shredded spur gear). I'm new to this truck still and figured i would freshen her up a bit as well and clean up the shocks. i found a how to on another forum which allows the truck to sit lower and keeps it from flipping over as easy. all you need to do is add a spacer (fuel tube, or a actual shock spacer)

so i went to the LHS and picked up oil and spacers. i took apart 1 shock and noticed theres already a spacer in there.... so heres my questions

1. do i already own the big bore shocks? HPI site shows big bore on the truck per description (4 shocks not 8)
2. if they are, do you think doubling up the spacer is a bad idea
3. if 2 is a bad idea, any tips on shock setup (I'm sure there is a lot of info here but the search is a bit busted on this site, at least for me)

You betcha

so after a year I decided to pull her out and fix her up from the last bashing (lost shaft pin, shredded spur gear). I'm new to this truck still and figured I would freshen her up a bit as well and clean up the shocks. I found a how to on another forum which allows the truck to sit lower and keeps it from flipping over as easy. all you need to do is add a spacer (fuel tube, or a actual shock spacer)

so I went to the LHS and picked up oil and spacers. I took apart 1 shock and noticed there's already a spacer in there.... so here's my questions

1. Do I already own the big bore shocks? hpi site shows big bore on the truck per description (4 shocks not 8)
2. If they are, do you think doubling up the spacer is a bad idea