Picco .21 Nitro RC Engine- Help Wanted (Tuning,idleing)

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ScottyNitro17

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi I'm fairly new to the whole Nitro stuff so this might be a little confusing on my part to explain :p :

For Christmas my Fiance got me a Custom Built Nitro RC Monster Truck from TRAXXAS, It was fully broken in and tuned to run rich but I've been told by the guy who built it that I need to tune my Picco .21 engine but If I'm honest I'm terrified of going near that Engine for risk of destroying it (As buying a new engine then having to Install it will be far worse than having to tune it) But I know that It does need to be tuned since 1.As far as I'm aware it drains less fuel and will reduce my fuel waste , 2.It doesn't Idle well, It will last about 2-4 seconds when cold and even at 100.c+ it idles for 4-7 before cutting out , So what I really need help with is how to tune my engine correctly without damaging it, whats the temp limit, how do I keep that engine singing away without stalling and If there is anything else I should know about it ? I'll leave some pictures of it below if it helps :

152ab7d02ea81a5f395925fb29007dca.jpg
0f777aef51a25cd2ec17147ac7433204.jpg
b1deed30932d8aad36d314f26a4d672d.jpg

Ok so the first thing you need to do is determine the factory needle setting for the Picco. Just go to their website and find the PDF manual for the Picco you have.