Nitro Rustler Idle Problems?...

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rdizz

RCTalk Basher
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
Hey guys, I am a total newb to Nitro RC.

Now I just bought a new Nitro Rustler went through the break in process. So far so good. car has much power and runs great However...

It just seems to idle way to high. It wants to just go on grass or street it takes off. So i read into it more read the manual watched videos the whole nine and attempted to adjust the idle screw (counter clockwise for lower idle speed and clock wise for higher) But the problem is the screw is doing absolutely nothing? it does not affect the butterfly inside the carb at all? loosening it changes nothing? Am I doing something wrong here?

With the engine off and the electronics turned on remove the air filter so you can see the carb gap and apply the brake. if there is a gap, (keep on the brake) it should close slowly as you make small counter clockwise turns to the idle screw, it should open slowly as well when turned clockwise. just to see movement either way is a good sign for the idle screw and 1mm is typical starting point. it sounds like the clutch is engaging for some reason which i have found out causes insane idle problems. It's just something typical when learning Nitro engines :) see if this link helps any:
https://www.rcnitrotalk.com/forum/threads/nitro-tuning-tips-and-tuning-flow-chart.60832/

I actually tried this method you suggested, The carb gap does not change while turning the idle adjustment screw.

how much gap is there currently? does the carb open when throttle is applied and close back to starting point when released?