Newbie asking for help getting started... t-maxx or revo or?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

davetfft

RCTalk Basher
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Hi All;

I'm new to the nitro world, I've had numerous electrics and I'm ready to jump into this world.

I'm sure this has been asked 100 times butt bear with me...

I'm after a RTR electric starting 4wd basher. I don't have plans to race, just to tear it up and have some fun with my son and teach him engines & electronics in the process.

1. New vs Used on ebay - obvious pros n cons, take a chance on ebay and save some bucks or just cut out the hassle and buy new? If I do look into used what are the key things to avoid? I realize with ebay it's buyer beware, as-is, but are there any real red flags one should be aware of?

2. In my area Traxxas has the hobby stores in their pocket, no parts for other brands are carried. Any reason not to go with a Traxxas brand?

3. If I go Traxxas is the Revo 3.3 worth that much more than a t-maxx 3.3? It seems that the t-maxx has a huge amount of tuning parts available as opposed to the Revo. Should I go T-maxx or jump ahead into the Revo world?

any opinions are welcome!

thanks!

dave

It's always a risk buying used nitros simply because you have no idea how the engine was treated until you physically see it run. Whenever buying used, add the cost of a new engine to the price. Not to mention wear and tear on drive components. Traxxas is a good brand, and as you stated, most hobby shops stock their parts. But the Savage is the king of bashers, hands down. Hpi definitely over-builds their products.