new to the sport

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brianr2011

RCTalk Member
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
I've been really interest in rc rock crawling for a long time now i already have a nitro truck and on-road electric car now its time for something a little more slow. I've looked everywhere on the internet at all the different trucks they have out now. What would be a good starter truck for someone new to rc rock crawling? and remember I'm not a complete noob so i have some experience with rc just not the rock crawling. Just dont wanna waste my money on a crappy rig. So i decided to ask the pros!

i love my scx10, but its not really a full on crawler. next time around if it were me id say a wraith with a 55t motor, or a ax10... I've seen a few cc01 tamiyas around lately but i duno how they perform.

definately dont get the hpi crawler king, its more like radio shack quality compared to the rest. imo.

I have an axial wraith and I love it!!! They are not as "Customizable" as the SCX-10. But the SCX-10 isn't really made for crawling, it's a trail truck. They wraith IMO is in between a Trail Truck and a True Crawler. You can't go wrong with either.

But of course I would go Wraith :)

Sent from my Pipboy-3000 in the Capital Wasteland.

i love both of those and yeah i know about the hpi one lol and i also dont really want one where its built for competitions. i want one thats got a similar to real scale chassis so it can be customized with whatever really. what about the kits that www.rc4wd.com has? they all look pretty sick i think

RC4WD.com has lots of cool things. I use some of their parts on my SCX-10/JK project.

If you want to have it look realistic get a SCX-10. Amazing!