Got a question for you computer guys?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rex2342

RCTalk Addict
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
I'm running Windows XP(Home Edition) and everytime I restart my PC I get the DOS promt come up saying something about system32?It just stated doing this the other day and doesn't seem to be affecting my PC but it's kinda annoying since I don't know why it does it and it wasn't their beforeand but I'm not that good with computers so I can't figure it out.Anyone got any clues?

Could you let us know exactly what it says about system32?
In sure we will be able to help you out but we will need more info.

What it does it everytime I restart my PC and windows reloads the DOS prompt comes up.The header reads C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe and their is just a black box under it with an icon blinking likes it's waiting for me to type something in but when I try to type something it doesn't let me.It goes away after windows loads but flashs again real fast after it loads?Like I said it doesn't seem to be affecting my PC but it's annoying because it wasn't their before and I haven't changed anything or downloaded anything.

rex, it sounds to me like you've somehow gotten the "command prompt" (start->programs->accessories->command prompt) to start automatically.

check this location:

start -> programs -> startup

do you see any commnd prompt shortcut? if so right click it in the start menu and choose delete fromt he resulting menu.

the other place it could be is in your registry:

start -> run -> type: msconfig -> ok

i think xp has the msconfig utility. it's an easy way manage the things that run automatically. check under the startup tab for cmd.exe. if you find it, remove the check mark.