Body repair experiment.

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tvjv2009

The dork that asks all the stupid questions...
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
I was wondering if anyone had experience repairing bodies. I had about 10 decent bashing sessions on one of the cheap-o traxxas brand stock type tmaxx body. Well the thing broke into pieces behind the cab where the fuel access comes through the bed. I have zero experience repairing any body. So I am set out to do a bit of experimenting. I took some pictures of the body before, but accidently erased them from my phone. If it turns out decent, I will explain what I did. If not, I will spare you details.

Get a roll of yellow, sticky back mesh tape for sheet rock, stick it into place and add a good smear of Shoo-Goo on top of it.
Both available in any hardware store.

Thanks Rolex! I probably should have done some research before doing this project. I it in the truck all week and think what might work.. What I did was bonded the two pieces of the body back together with pvc adhesive. I let it sit overnight. Then I got a can of Rustoleum bed liner. I sprayed the inside of the body with two cotes. Then the rest on the outside. I let it set up good and painted the outside. I am going to let it set for a few days as I hit the road in the morning. but it sure looks durable. I will use the drywall mesh/shoe goo on my next body for sure! Kind of a preventive deal! Thanks again!!

I had some Gorilla tape on it, witch usually sticks to anything, but I think the burnt oil from the exhaust would not let it stick.

Shoe Goo is probably one of my all time favorite substances...I use it for almost everything. In fact I think my duct tape is feeling a bit ignored these days lol