VOTE NOW: July Rig of the Month!!

Go Back   RCNitroTalk > R/C Forums > Traxxas T-Maxx

T maxx Big block conversion

Discussion in Traxxas T-Maxx forum, started by hipluther01.

Unread 2-08-2009, 11:08 PM   #1
hipluther01
RCNT Addict

Experience: I am an experienced RC driver
Trader Feedback: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
T maxx Big block conversion

Im looking to put an HPI k4.6 (.28) onto my T maxx. This is the first T maxx I've had. I've been running a rustler for a long time and its Extremly fast. A friend of mine has a BB T maxx which he bought that way with the HPI SS .25. Its super fast. The T maxx that I have has basically nothing on it. It already has the chassis for the conversion. My question is basically clutch bell and spur gear set up. For some reason Im completely lost. Im trying to figure gear ratio. The problem having to use the HPI clutch housing and the Traxxas spur gear and they just seem.. well.. awful Im wanting a mid range. good torque with really descent top end. So far The best has been a 18T robinson clutch and a 56T Integy spur. The problem is that all the reviews I've read said that won't work cause there isn't enough room. However that is on a Savage truck. Will It work with the T maxx? Has anyone on here done this conversion? Does anyone have any suggestions???

Unread 2-09-2009, 10:06 AM   #2
olds97_lss
Hardcore RCNT User

Trader Feedback: (38)
HPI savage and t-maxx spur gears are not innerchangeable.

The old 2.5 and earlier maxx runs a 32P (tooth pitch) spur gear whereas the savage runs a standard 1M pitch, so you can't mesh them.

However, you can buy a 1M spur for a t-maxx, but the only one I know if is offered by RC Solutions. If you do get that one, you need to get a hardened CB to match up with it. I'd suggest it though as it allows you to run a 1/8th scale clutch, which holds up way better on a 21 converted maxx than the stock Traxxas clutch.

Here's are links to the spurs:
http://r-cstore.com/store/product_in...products_id=92