Which Street Foams?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StrechM

Hardcore RCTalk User
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
What foams are you guys using for bashing on asphalt? Rubber does not appear to be an option at these rpms.
My new set up is;
M18
Ball diffs
Mamba 8000
2 and 3 cell lipos
Obviously it's not for racing but we do have a very large perfectly smooth seamless asphalt area to bash on.
It was a purchase from months ago and I've finally found enough time to complete it.

did you ever find an answer to this question? I'm interested in this info too..

Foams....

This is an interesting question.
I have a M18 with a Mamba 6800, seen below:

This also has Xray ball-diffs front and rear, CF center shaft, full carbon chassis, Xray dogbones and runs UnitedRC Xtreme matched 7.2V NiMh packs.

I put this on an asphalt track where 8th, 10th and 12th scales race, I was using TRC foams - shown in the pic.
The outside temprature was about 31° Celcius, so the track was warm
The car had absoloutely no grip on that asphalt, I tried various compounds front and rear - it didn't help. The car would break loose down the straight, doing donuts galore, in the corners I had to avoid or feather the throttle.
I also tried softer shocks and different shock positions. The rear toe-in was factory setting and I had about 1° toe-in on the front wheels

My son's Micro RS4 with a UnitedRC K3 (370) tuned motor was eating me for lunch with the same type of TRC foams on - hard up front (pink), medium rear (magenta)
Out of sheer desperation I fitted HPI wheels with rubber tires to the M18. Medium fronts and rears. The car was on rails.. so different.
It behaved much better with the HPI (Not XRay - as I have a lot of HPI wheel/tires) rubbers on.