which buggy... I'm a noob to 1/8th scale.

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

timmytimmy14

RCTalk Qualifier
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
hey guys. i have been racing 1/10th scale touring cars for a couple of years now. and i want to get into the 1/8th scale buggy class. I'm not sure which one to get. price is not really a factor. i was thinking about getting a hyper 7 pro. i also need help with what kind of motor i want. i need a motor that is extremely reliable and easy to break in and fast. i hear good things about the wasp .28 motor. also, when i buy a motor for my buggy does it come with a clutch and a clutch bell and all that stuff. if it doesn't then which ones should i get. help me out guys...

Last edited:
I like the wasp .28 also but if your into racing its out of the question. :devious:
I also like the hyper 7 pbs and hope to get one for my b-day :hammer:

You might want to try the search function as this subject has been discussed in great detail over and over again.

goin buggy, go underpowered. big motors will only mess u up and thus break.

-ult

Timmy, I assume you want to race, well check out what other cars are running at the track. Ask the owners about what they like/dislike about each one. Also ask them about motors. From the "locals" I've talked to, the hyper 7 is a good choice, and so is the OS RG 21 engine. The OS is reliable, smooth power and economical to buy and run.

kamlooper. see that is the problem. i dont have a track anywhere near me that i know about. i live in central jersey. i have been trying to find a track but have had no luck.