What was the worse body you ever designed, cut out, mounted?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kwong2001

Hardcore RCTalk User
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Well I can tell you how bad the second body I ever painted came out.

I was a total noob back then. That was when a RTR on-road was blazing fast.

First on-road was an OFNA Nitro Ob4. Came with an accord body if I remember correctly. Anyhow, I wanted to do a cool design, so I got these flame templates and put them on the side.

Wanting to be creative, I decided to paint the body a metalic blue, the flames, spoiler and windows (believe it or not) white!

So first I put the flame templates on, then not knowing about window masks, I took some tape and neatly cut it in such a way to cover the windows...but it looked like poop.

Then I proceeded to paint the body. I never painted before. You know how you do a small painting on the first layer? I just went for it and painted until it got runy. Seeing as how it was gonna look like poop, I took a piece of tissue to get the runniness out of the paint. Making the whole roof with uneven shades of paint.

Then after painting the whole car blue, I removed the flames and window masks, and proceed to do the white. It looked okay, but real ricey.

Okay, so then after painting the car and letting it dry, I cut the body. Not having a dremel, I used lexan scissors. Now this really looked like poop. And on top of that, I eye balled how much to take off for the wheel wells. So they weren't even round!

Okay, so the body was cut, then I mounted it. Without making the hole for the body posts, before painting, I simply had to eye ball it. And it was uneven and then, I had to cut more from the wheel wells on top of that.