nitro vs electric - can't decide!

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

solman989

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Hi all

I'm a newb getting into this hobby but I can't decide whether a nitro or electric car is right for me. The only previous RC experience I've had are with cheap Tyco RC's back in the early 90's. I am looking into getting an onroad mainly for driving around in parking lots, practicing drifting, and goofing off with. Racing may come later if I ever find time and get sucked in deeper into the hobby. My two choices are the HPI Sprint (electric) or the HPI RS4 3 EVO rtr (nitro). I initially wanted electric for its ease of use but jumped the gun and ordered the nitro due to its realism factor and no battery charging. But after doing a bit of research, nitro also has battery hassles and requires constant maintainance, plus seems to be more expensive. I've also heard that its much more difficult to drift with a nitro. I know the general differences between the two but can anyone list any pros/cons based on your experience and give an opinion on which is plain funner to drive?