buy a GT in pieces?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RobH

Gone - bye bye.
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
My son really wants a gas truck like his pop. The problem is I don't have $300 laying around to buy him one.

Can I buy a GT in pieces? I'm looking at towerhobbies and everything starts at $200. Does a product exist where you can buy just the frame, for example? I realize spending a little bit of money here and there is going to cost more in the end, but it won't be a big hit to the bank account.

I was thinking like $75-100 at a time. I don't imagine any one part exceeding that budget, but what do I know. I'm a newbie. :D

any suggestions?

-rob

update: I did find some stuff. if I wanted to clone my maximum ST, I found a chassis:

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXVG82&P=7

I suppose I could find everything and just duplicate what I see on my truck. (maybe buy the better parts)

Last edited:
Well Rob What I would recommend is that you do one of two things. One get your self an Identical truck so that you have the same parts.
Or Two I would actually recommned pop step up to a shall we say higher end product and let Jr. have the Duratrax. If you want I dentical then just look on ebay man you can pick up a duratrax for pennies...X

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3119443067&category=19168

You can find some good deals on E-Bay or even at your local hobby shop. If your careful you will be able to find some great used equipment. You may even want to call a few pawn shops in your aria.

Building an RC one part at a time will cost you double or even triple the price of a new one. Yes you can do it a little at a time but your better off putting that mony aside until you have the proper wad.

Just one mans opinion.