Finally, a carb tuning HOW-TO

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RobH

Gone - bye bye.
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
I think one of the hardest things for a nitro newbie is tuning his carb. I'm not a expert so read on at your own risk. I would, however, like to share my experience on the topic so that maybe you wont make the same mistakes I did.

I thought i was doing everything right. I tuned my HSN first and the LSN needle second and the idel set screw last. The temps were always good (230-250). When I took my R/C out to the track, i got a pretty stiff wake up call. My engine seemed to lack the bottom end found in the other engines on the track. I say "seemed" because, as luck would have it, I re-tuned my engine a week later and found a drastic error my tuning methods.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

RobH's Carb Tuning HOW-TO:

The first thing you need to do if get your RC to stay running under rich conditions. Start with the low speed needle (LSN) and high speed needle (HSN) rich enough that the engine bogs down constantly, but lean enough that it doesn't die. You need your RC to run before you can tune it.

Next, as we've all read before, get the engine up to temp. Under rich conditions, the engine won't get that hot. The warmer you can get it, however, the more accurate the tune.

Before we start on the needles, let me point out that it's important that you never let the RC have less than a 1/2 tank of gas at any time during the tuning process. If you run the tank to the bottom, you will get a false since of lean / rich as the RC will naturally lean out as it gets to the bottom of the tank. As you tune the engine, be sure to top off the tank each time it hits the half way mark.